Gifts O Faith

ITEM # RC19b
Black Opal Chaplet of Seven Sorrows

Black Opal Chaplet
of Seven Sorrows

Handmade Gifts O Faith Original
18" Long - Custom Designed
Free chaplet instructions included

Also known as:
The Servite Rosary
The Rosary of Seven Sorrows
The Chaplet of Seven Dolors

This traditional chaplet was made with 6mm black opal Czech glass beads. The Pater (Our Father) beads are silver capped. Finished with a 1" tall silver ox Our Lady of Sorrows (Mater Dolorosa) Medal. Fashioned with durable nickel silver findings.

$ 11.99

How to pray the Chaplet of Seven Sorrows
(The Rosary of Seven Sorrows is said with different prayers,
but maintains the same structure as this chaplet.)

This Chaplet has a total of 59 beads. There are 7 sets of 7 beads,
7 large beads or medals which depict the 7 sorrows,
3 ending beads and the medal.

On each large bead or medal, pray
1 Our Father.

On each of seven small beads, pray
1 Hail Mary.

On each set of 7 beads, reflect on
one of the 7 Sorrows of Mary:
1. The Prophecy of Simeon.
2. The flight into Egypt.
3. The loss of the Child Jesus.
4. Mary meets Jesus carrying His Cross.
5. The Crucifixion.
6. Mary receives the body of Jesus from the Cross.
7. The Body of Jesus is placed in the tomb.

On each of the 3 end beads, pray
1 Hail Mary
In honor of Our Lady's tears.

Information obtained from the originating website:


How to Pray the Rosary of Seven Sorrows, also known as the Servite Rosary
bservances are on Friday before Palm Sunday and on September 15th internationally.
It is also prayed on Holy Saturday of Easter.

First, pray an Act of Contrition
O, my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, behold me before your divine presence, all in confusion at the thought of the many grievous injuries I have done you.
I ask pardon for them with my whole heart, repenting of them for love of you, hating them above every other evil and ready to lose my life rather than offend you again.
And do you, most tender Virgin, mother of mercy and refuge of sinners, obtain for me the pardon of all my sins by virtue of your bitter pains
and help me to so pray as to gain the indulgences attached to this, your most holy Rosary.

Come, Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful and enkindle in them the fire of you divine love.
Send forth you spirit and they shall be created and you shall renew the face of the earth.

Enlighten our minds , we beseech you, O Lord, with the light of your brightness,
that we might see what we ought to do and be able to do what is right, through Christ, Our Lord.

Announce each Sorrow, listed below, then say one Our Father.
Say seven Hail Maries while meditating on the Sorrow.
Repeat 1 and 2 continuing through all seven Sorrows.
At the end, three Hail Maries are said in honor of the Tears of Our Sorrowful Mother.
Pray Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory be, for the intention of the Pope.
In conclusion, say three times; "Virgin most Sorrowful, pray for us".

The First Sorrow:
Let us meditate on the first Sorrow of the Blessed Virgin, when she presented her only son in the temple, laid him in the arms of holy Simeon,
and heard the prophetic words, "This one shall be a sword of sorrow to pierce your own heart."

The Second Sorrow:
Mary flees into Egypt with Jesus and Joseph - Forced to endure the hardships of a long journey, and becoming a foreigner in a strange land,
Mary and her family flee to protect the child Jesus from those who would destroy him

The Third Sorrow:
Mary seeks Jesus lost in Jerusalem - Jesus disappeared for three days in Jerusalem at the age of twelve,
causing his parents, especially Mary, agonizing sorrow.

The Fourth Sorrow:
Mary meets Jesus on the way to Calvary - As Jesus makes his way to Calvary, condemned to crucifixion, He meets His mother, Mary. 
He is bruised, derided, cursed and defiled and her sorrow is absolute as Jesus drags His own cross up the hill of His crucifixion.

The Fifth Sorrow:
Mary stands near the cross of her Son - Mary stands near her dying Son unable to minister to him as he cries "I thirst". 
She hears him promise heaven to a thief and forgive his enemies.
His last words, "Behold your mother," charge us to look on Mary as our mother.

The Sixth Sorrow:
Mary received the body of Jesus taken down from the cross - The passion and death are over but for his mother,
grief continues.  She holds His body in her arms.

The Seventh Sorrow:
Mary places the body of Jesus in the tomb, awaiting the resurrection - The most tragic day in history ends,
Mary alone in sorrow, as she lays the body of her Son, in the tomb.

Reproduced from the originating organization:

Pope Benedict XIII, September 26th, 1724, granted an indulgence of 200 days for every Our Father and every Hail Mary. to those who, with sincere contrition,
and having confessed, or firmly purposing to confess their sins, shall recite this Chaplet on any Friday, or on any day of Lent, on the Festival of the Seven Dolors,
or within the Octave; and 100 days on any other day of the year.

Pope Clement XII, December 12, 1734, confirmed these indulgences, and moreover granted:
1) A Plenary Indulgence to those who shall have recited this Chaplet for a month every day ~
Confession, Communion and Prayers for the Church, required as usual.
2) An indulgence of 100 years to all who should recite it on any day, having confessed their
sins, with sincere sorrow, or at least firmly purposing to do so.
3) 150 years to those who should recite it on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, and Holidays
of Obligation, with Confession and Communion.
4) A Plenary indulgence once a year, on any day, to those who are accustomed to recite it four
times a week, on condition of Confession, Communion, and the Recital of the Chaplet
on the day of Communion.
5) 200 years indulgence to all who recite it devoutly after Confession; and to all who carry it
about them, and frequently recite it, 10 years' indulgence every time they shall hear Mass,
hear a sermon, or reciting Our Father, and seven Hail Maries shall perform any spiritual
or corporal work of mercy, in honor of our Blessed Savior,
the Blessed Virgin Mary, or any Saint, their advocate.

All these indulgences were confirmed by a decree of January 17th, 1747,
and rendered applicable to the souls in Purgatory.

The Servite Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows is a devotion that recalls seven sorrowful episodes
in the life of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The practice originated with the Servite Order
(Servants of Mary), probably soon after the Order was founded in Monte Senario, Italy, in 1233.

According to St. Bridget of Sweden (1303-1373), seven promises were made to those who meditate on Our Lady's Tears and Dolors.
The Blessed Virgin grants seven graces to the souls who honor her daily by saying seven Hail Maries while meditating on her tears and sorrows. These are:

1. I will grant peace to their families.
2. They will be enlightened about the Divine Mysteries.
3. I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.
4. I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the adorable will
of my Divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.
5. I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them
at every instant of their lives.
6. I will visibly help them at the moment of their death - they will see the face of their mother.
7. I have obtained this grace from my Divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to
my tears and dolors will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness,
since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.